The Changing Game

Image

Recently my husband and I sold our home. This was our first house, we brought both our daughters home from the hospital in this house, and started our lives together there. As you could imagine there were so many memories and emotions wrapped up in our home. We had lived in this place for four and a half years but it was time for a change.

I don’t think most of us are comfortable with change. It is often difficult and uneasy. There is a fear of the unknown. My husband and I knew that it was best for our children and our family to move to a safer location.

What has helped me deal with all the emotion that comes with selling a house is knowing that even though my life may be constantly changing God is unchanging.

When our lives seem like they are out of control we can get our peace from knowing that God is still in control no matter what.

My biggest worry out of all of this was how my two daughters would handle this change. They have been struggling to adapt to their new environment and as painful as it is to see them struggle as a mother I know that we made the best decision for them.

Often times we will be faced with a change that is difficult or uncomfortable but God knows it is the best for us. Just like children who have moved to a new home, we as Christians symbolically move to a new home in Christ and the journey is not always pleasant.

33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

I love that we can be anchored in Christ in the midst of change and turmoil. Our children will see our peace and will feel secure and safe simply by witnessing Jesus working our situation out for good.

About ChristineWelker

Christine Welker is the Children's Pastor at Lake Stevens Assembly of God in Lake Stevens Washington. Together with her husband, she ministers to children and their parents. They have three daughters and believe in the spiritual health of the whole family in addition to fostering the spiritual growth of children.
This entry was posted in Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

