Perfectly Imperfect

Image

I was born the eldest child in my family. Being the eldest meant that I often got handed the most responsibility out of my two younger siblings, it meant that I got to do things before them, and it meant that I had to be an example for my brother and sister.

When does teaching your child to set an example for others go too far?

I think in all parents there is an idea that is imbedded within them, an idea that their child or children are perfect. Love is blind right?

Let me ask you, what is your definition of the perfect child? Is it a child who has straight A’s, who is in every activity known to man, is popular and well liked, is always well behaved, what about beautiful? My point is we all have an image of what we want for our children and sometimes as parents we get carried away and push our children too far.

Don’t get me wrong I am not saying that we shouldn’t push our children, or want the best for them. I am simply saying that we must be careful to not lay the mantle of perfection on their shoulders.

Jesus was the only perfect being ever, period. As amazing as your child may be they are still not nor will ever be perfect. If your child was perfect then the cross and the sacrifice that Jesus made would be meaningless. We would have no need for a savior if we didn’t need saving.

We all stumble in many ways. Anyone who is never at fault in what they say is perfect, able to keep their whole body in check.” (James 3:2)

“8 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.” (Ephesians 2:8-9)

So you see we cannot be perfect out of our own will, we receive salvation as a gift from God by the grace of God. Children are no different. We all need Jesus to help us. None of us can be perfect we can only strive to be more like Jesus every day.

Have grace for the shortcomings of your children, after all Jesus had grace for yours.

 

About ChristineWelker

Christine Welker is the Children's Pastor at Lake Stevens Assembly of God in Lake Stevens Washington. Together with her husband, she ministers to children and their parents. They have three daughters and believe in the spiritual health of the whole family in addition to fostering the spiritual growth of children.
This entry was posted in Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perfectly Imperfect

  1. Lilly says:

    I needed this.

  2. Gede Prama says:

    Thank you for sharing and Greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

Leave a comment